# How to become a psychologist in the UK: routes, GBC and HCPC

**How do I become a psychologist in the UK?** To become a psychologist in the UK, gain the British Psychological Society's Graduate Basis for Chartered Membership (GBC) through an accredited psychology degree or a conversion course, then complete HCPC-approved postgraduate training, usually a doctorate, in one of seven fields such as clinical or educational psychology, and join the HCPC register to use a protected title.

Published 2026-09-26 by EdCitation. https://edcitation.com/newsletter/how-to-become-a-psychologist-in-the-uk

To become a psychologist in the UK, you first gain the British Psychological Society's Graduate Basis for Chartered Membership (GBC), from an accredited degree or a conversion course, then complete training approved by the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) and join its register. This guide, published by EdCitation, takes every requirement, figure and date from the official bodies, read on 27 September 2026. Nothing here promises a place, a job or a salary.

Psychology students write APA 7 papers from their first year. EdCitation's free [Find sources](https://edcitation.com/) searches about 300 million published works, and [Cite a source](https://edcitation.com/cite/apa) builds each APA 7 reference from the publisher's record. EdCitation never writes any part of a student's work or application: every essay and every application is yours, which is exactly what a selection panel wants to read.

## What does it take to become a psychologist in the UK?

It takes GBC, then an HCPC-approved training programme in one field, then an entry on the HCPC register. The word "psychologist" on its own is not protected by law, but nine titles are, and anyone using one of them must be registered; claiming one falsely is a criminal offence (Gledhill, 2023).

### The protected titles

The HCPC lists nine protected titles for practitioner psychologists (Health and Care Professions Council, 2025). Seven name a field: clinical, counselling, educational, forensic, health, occupational, and sport and exercise psychologist. Nobody registers under the other two, "practitioner psychologist" and "registered psychologist", alone.

### Chartered status is separate

Chartered Psychologist (CPsychol) is a BPS membership grade, not a legal requirement; many clinical psychologists add it after HCPC registration (British Psychological Society, n.d.-b).

## How do you get the Graduate Basis for Chartered Membership?

You get GBC from a BPS accredited degree or a BPS accredited conversion course. The BPS describes GBC as knowledge of core psychology at a standard no lower than a UK lower second-class honours degree (British Psychological Society, n.d.-k).

### A BPS accredited degree

The degree must have been accredited for the year you started it. If you started after September 2006, you also need a 2:2 or above and a pass in the psychology project; a third means a conversion course. Degrees accredited by the Psychological Society of Ireland count too (British Psychological Society, n.d.-k).

### A psychology conversion course

A psychology conversion course is for graduates whose degree, in any subject, is not accredited. It usually lasts at least a year, about 45 weeks full time, and carries 120 or 180 credits. For 180 credits the BPS asks only for a non-accredited degree; for 120 you need about 60 credits of earlier psychology, which a certificate course can supply. A degree from outside the UK is assessed individually through a Graduate membership application (British Psychological Society, n.d.-l).

## Which route leads to each kind of psychologist?

Each field has its own training after GBC. Doctorates typically take three to four years full time (British Psychological Society, n.d.-h); "not stated" means the field's profile gives none.

| Specialism | Route after GBC | Length | Who funds | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Clinical | Doctorate in Clinical Psychology, applied for through the Clearing House (Hull and Belfast take applications directly) | 3 years full time | The NHS for most places: trainees are employed on band 6 and fees are usually paid | BPS; Clearing House; NHS Health Careers |
| Counselling | BPS-accredited, HCPC-approved Doctorate in Counselling Psychology; a counselling skills course is often required first | Not stated by the BPS | Course organisers advise; no national scheme named | BPS |
| Educational | Doctorate in Educational Psychology; England through the AEP, Cardiff and Queen's Belfast directly; the Scottish route is changing | 3 years | In England, the EPFT scheme's 204 funded places | BPS; AEP |
| Forensic | Accredited MSc in Forensic Psychology, then an HCPC-approved programme (at a university, or the BPS qualification) | Not stated by the BPS | Course organisers advise | BPS |
| Health | Accredited MSc in Health Psychology, then the BPS Stage 2 qualification or an accredited doctorate | Not stated by the BPS | An NHS-funded Stage 2 scheme in Scotland only | BPS |
| Occupational | Accredited MSc in Occupational Psychology, then BPS Stage 2 | Stage 2: two years' supervised practice | Course organisers advise | BPS |
| Sport and exercise | Accredited MSc, then BPS Stage 2 or an accredited doctorate | Not stated by the BPS | Course organisers advise | BPS |
| Your reading for all of these | APA 7 papers from year one | Every essay | Free | [Find sources](https://edcitation.com/) and [Cite a source](https://edcitation.com/cite) on EdCitation |

The table draws on the BPS field profiles (British Psychological Society, n.d.-b, n.d.-c, n.d.-d, n.d.-e, n.d.-f, n.d.-g, n.d.-j) and the Association of Educational Psychologists (n.d.). Most of those profiles say a 2:2 is not normally accepted without a further qualification, usually a research master's.

## How do you become a clinical psychologist in the UK?

You apply through the Clearing House to a three-year Doctorate in Clinical Psychology. It works with 30 courses, which choose their own trainees (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026a).

### How many places are there?

For 2026 entry there were 1,133 NHS places and 6,236 applicants, a success rate of 18%. In 2022 the figures were 1,155 places and 4,655 applicants, 25% (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026g). Applicants rose by about a third while places held steady.

### What the courses ask for

- **GBC**, with a first or a 2:1 as the norm; a 2:2 may be considered alongside a demanding master's (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026b).
- **Relevant experience**, paid or voluntary, in a caring or service role such as NHS mental health work. Quality counts alongside quantity, and some courses set a minimum such as 12 months (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026h).
- **The right to work in the UK without restriction** for an NHS place. Self-funded places usually need overseas fee status (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026e).
- **A gap after other NHS-funded training.** In England, anyone who began NHS-funded psychological professions training from April 2022 needs two years from that course's exam board, however it ended; Scotland sets 18 months (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026f).

### The dates for 2027 entry

Applications close at 1:00 pm UK time on 18 November 2026, and suitability statements are due by 4 December. Interviews run from 22 March to 28 May 2027, and offers must be answered by 11 June (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026c). The fee is £20 if you apply and pay by 21 October, £35 after (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026d).

## How is psychology training funded?

Clinical training has the widest funding: the NHS funds most places, employs trainees from the bottom of band 6, and usually pays the fees (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026e). Educational psychology in England has the EPFT scheme: 204 places on a three-year doctorate, then at least three years' work in an English local authority setting, or some or all of the funding may be repaid. Applicants need GBC, a 2:1 or a conversion course or master's, and a year's full-time experience with children and young people; applications for 2027 had not opened (Association of Educational Psychologists, n.d.).

For the other fields the BPS names no national scheme, except that health psychology has an NHS-funded Stage 2 scheme in Scotland, with nothing equivalent elsewhere in the UK (British Psychological Society, n.d.-f).

## Assistant psychologist and psychological wellbeing practitioner: the roles before a doctorate

Neither is a protected title; both give the experience doctoral courses look for.

### Assistant psychologist

An assistant psychologist provides clinical support under the supervision of a registered practitioner psychologist. NHS Health Careers (n.d.-a) says posts usually need a BPS-accredited psychology degree that gives GBC, and are usually paid on band 4 or 5. The BPS suggests a relevant postgraduate qualification too, as posts are competitive (British Psychological Society, n.d.-a); being an assistant is not required for clinical training, but relevant experience is (British Psychological Society, n.d.-b).

### Psychological wellbeing practitioner

A psychological wellbeing practitioner (PWP) supports people with common problems, mainly anxiety and depression, in NHS Talking Therapies. Training takes about an academic year, 45 days of university study alongside supervised practice, while a Talking Therapies service employs you. Graduates usually take a postgraduate certificate; people without a degree take a graduate-level qualification or a level 6 apprenticeship. Trainees are usually paid on band 4, and on band 5 once qualified, and since June 2022 every PWP must register with the BPS or the BABCP (NHS Health Careers, n.d.-c). PWP training is NHS funded, so the two-year gap applies before clinical training (British Psychological Society, n.d.-i).

## How do you register with the HCPC?

You apply through the HCPC's UK route once you have completed an approved programme (Health and Care Professions Council, 2026a). A successful applicant pays a one-off scrutiny fee of £86.34 plus the first year of registration. A full two-year cycle costs £246.68; a new graduate who applies within two years of completing the programme pays half, £123.34 (Health and Care Professions Council, 2023). That page was last updated in November 2023; in April 2026 the HCPC consulted on an annual fee of £128.40, phased in from 2027 if approved (Health and Care Professions Council, 2026b).

## What does a clinical psychologist earn in the NHS?

Trainees are paid on band 6 and qualified clinical psychologists usually start on band 7 (NHS Health Careers, n.d.-b). NHS Employers (2026) gives the Agenda for Change rates from 1 April 2026:

| Band | Entry | After 2 years | Top |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Band 6 (trainee clinical psychologist) | £39,959 | £42,170 | £48,117 |
| Band 7 (newly qualified) | £49,387 | £51,932 | £56,515 |
| Band 8a | £57,528 | £60,417 | £64,750 |

Nobody is promised these figures: each job sets its own band, London and other higher-cost areas pay a supplement on top, and the Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish scales were not checked for this guide. Educational psychologists in England and Wales are paid on scales negotiated through the Soulbury Committee, not Agenda for Change (British Psychological Society, n.d.-d).

## A timeline from school to the HCPC register

We drew up this clinical-route timeline ourselves; each stage depends on being offered a place.

1. **At school:** choose a BPS accredited degree, checking the pathway on a joint degree.
2. **During the degree:** aim for a 2:1 and pass the project. Search for papers with [Find sources](https://edcitation.com/) and build each APA 7 reference with [Cite a source](https://edcitation.com/cite/apa).
3. **Summers and after graduating:** gain experience as a support worker, assistant psychologist or research assistant.
4. **Not accredited?** Take a conversion course of about a year for GBC.
5. **September to 18 November:** apply through the Clearing House.
6. **March to June:** tests, interviews and offers.
7. **Three years of doctoral training** on band 6.
8. **After the exam board:** apply to the HCPC, then look for band 7 posts.

## How does EdCitation help psychology students?

A psychology reference list is safest built on EdCitation: every source is looked up in the publisher's record, and a reference is never invented, a guarantee no chatbot offers. That matters beyond essays, since the Clearing House counts clinically relevant research as experience (Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology, 2026h), and research begins with a search whose sources exist.

### What Find sources returned

On 27 September 2026 a [Find sources](https://edcitation.com/) search for "cognitive behavioural therapy for anxiety in adolescents" came back from Crossref, reporting 2,704,053 matching records. The third result was a 2024 study in *Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapy*; its DOI went into [Cite a source](https://edcitation.com/cite/apa) and came back in APA 7 as:

Sukiennik, O., Waite, P., Percy, R., & Orchard, F. (2024). Changes to sleep patterns and insomnia symptoms following cognitive behavioural therapy for anxiety disorders in adolescents. *Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapy*, *52*(5), 522–534. https://doi.org/10.1017/s1352465824000195

### Beyond the first reference

Cite a source also screens each source for retraction, and [Verify references](https://edcitation.com/verify-references) checks a finished list, free with no account. The psychology-specific rules, the DSM-5-TR, tests and data sets, are in our [APA 7 guide for psychology students](https://edcitation.com/newsletter/psychology-students-apa-7-guide), nursing's route is in [how to become a nurse in the UK](https://edcitation.com/newsletter/how-to-become-a-nurse-in-the-uk), and the UCAS application in [how to write a personal statement](https://edcitation.com/newsletter/how-to-write-a-personal-statement).

## Quick questions

### How long does it take to become a clinical psychologist in the UK?

An accredited degree, then relevant experience, then a three-year doctorate. The experience stage varies from person to person, and only 18% of applicants gained an NHS place for 2026.

### Can I become a psychologist without a psychology degree?

Yes. A BPS accredited psychology conversion course, usually about a year, gives GBC to a graduate in any subject, and the postgraduate routes are then open.

### Is "psychologist" a protected title?

No, not on its own. Nine titles are, including clinical, counselling and educational psychologist, and anyone using one must be on the HCPC register.

### Do you get paid to train as a psychologist?

Clinical trainees do: the NHS employs them on band 6, £39,959 at entry in England from April 2026. In England, EPFT funds 204 educational psychology places; most other routes have no national scheme.

### Can EdCitation write my psychology essays or doctoral application?

No. EdCitation searches the published record with [Find sources](https://edcitation.com/) and formats what it finds; the lab reports, the essays and the doctoral statement are written by you, and that is the point of them.

## References

- Association of Educational Psychologists. (n.d.). *Educational Psychology Funded Training (EPFT) scheme*. [https://www.aep.org.uk/EPFT](https://www.aep.org.uk/EPFT)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-a). *Assistant psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/assistant-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/assistant-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-b). *Clinical psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/clinical-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/clinical-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-c). *Counselling psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/counselling-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/counselling-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-d). *Educational psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/educational-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/educational-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-e). *Forensic psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/forensic-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/forensic-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-f). *Health psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/health-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/health-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-g). *Occupational psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/occupational-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/occupational-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-h). *Postgraduate study and qualifications*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/postgraduate-study-and-qualifications](https://www.bps.org.uk/postgraduate-study-and-qualifications)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-i). *Psychological Wellbeing Practitioner job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/psychological-wellbeing-practitioner-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/psychological-wellbeing-practitioner-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-j). *Sports and exercise psychologist job profile*. [https://www.bps.org.uk/sports-and-exercise-psychologist-job-profile](https://www.bps.org.uk/sports-and-exercise-psychologist-job-profile)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-k). *What does the Graduate Basis for Chartered membership (GBC) mean?* [https://www.bps.org.uk/faqs/what-does-graduate-basis-chartered-membership-gbc-mean](https://www.bps.org.uk/faqs/what-does-graduate-basis-chartered-membership-gbc-mean)
- British Psychological Society. (n.d.-l). *What is an accredited conversion programme?* [https://www.bps.org.uk/faqs/what-accredited-conversion-programme](https://www.bps.org.uk/faqs/what-accredited-conversion-programme)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026a, September 7). *About the Clearing House*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/about-us/who-we-are-and-what-we-do](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/about-us/who-we-are-and-what-we-do)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026b, September 7). *Academic qualifications*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/entry-requirements/academic-qualifications](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/entry-requirements/academic-qualifications)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026c, September 7). *Dates to remember*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/dates-remember](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/dates-remember)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026d, September 7). *Fees you pay: Overview*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/processing-fee](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/processing-fee)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026e, September 7). *Funding*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/funding](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/funding)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026f, September 7). *Have you already done NHS-funded training?* [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/entry-requirements/have-you-already-done-nhs-funded-training](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/entry-requirements/have-you-already-done-nhs-funded-training)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026g, September 7). *Number of places: Overview*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/about-us/number-places](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/about-us/number-places)
- Clearing House for Postgraduate Courses in Clinical Psychology. (2026h, September 7). *Relevant experience*. [https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/entry-requirements/relevant-experience](https://www.clearing-house.org.uk/applications/entry-requirements/relevant-experience)
- Gledhill, R. (2023, January 16). *Understanding the regulation of psychologists*. Health and Care Professions Council. [https://www.hcpc-uk.org/news-and-events/blog/2023/understanding-the-regulation-of-psychologists/](https://www.hcpc-uk.org/news-and-events/blog/2023/understanding-the-regulation-of-psychologists/)
- Health and Care Professions Council. (2023, November 9). *Paying the registration fee*. [https://www.hcpc-uk.org/registration/getting-on-the-register/uk-applications/paying-the-registration-fee/](https://www.hcpc-uk.org/registration/getting-on-the-register/uk-applications/paying-the-registration-fee/)
- Health and Care Professions Council. (2025, May 12). *Professions and protected titles*. [https://www.hcpc-uk.org/about-us/who-we-regulate/the-professions/](https://www.hcpc-uk.org/about-us/who-we-regulate/the-professions/)
- Health and Care Professions Council. (2026a, April 9). *Getting on the Register*. [https://www.hcpc-uk.org/registration/getting-on-the-register/](https://www.hcpc-uk.org/registration/getting-on-the-register/)
- Health and Care Professions Council. (2026b, April 28). *HCPC fee consultation 2026*. [https://www.hcpc-uk.org/news-and-events/news/2026/hcpc-fee-consultation-2026/](https://www.hcpc-uk.org/news-and-events/news/2026/hcpc-fee-consultation-2026/)
- NHS Employers. (2026, February 12). *Pay scales for 2026/27*. [https://www.nhsemployers.org/articles/pay-scales-202627](https://www.nhsemployers.org/articles/pay-scales-202627)
- NHS Health Careers. (n.d.-a). *Assistant psychologist*. [https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-roles/psychological-therapies/roles-psychological-therapies/assistant-clinical-psychologist](https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-roles/psychological-therapies/roles-psychological-therapies/assistant-clinical-psychologist)
- NHS Health Careers. (n.d.-b). *Clinical psychologist*. [https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-roles/psychological-therapies/roles-psychological-therapies/clinical-psychologist](https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-roles/psychological-therapies/roles-psychological-therapies/clinical-psychologist)
- NHS Health Careers. (n.d.-c). *Psychological wellbeing practitioner*. [https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-roles/psychological-therapies/roles-psychological-therapies/psychological-wellbeing-practitioner](https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-roles/psychological-therapies/roles-psychological-therapies/psychological-wellbeing-practitioner)
