EdCitation publishes this comparison, and the honest answer to EdCitation vs Scribbr is that the two are best at different jobs. For the reference itself and for the finished list, EdCitation is the best tool: Cite a source builds a reference from the publisher's record and screens it for retraction, and Verify references looks every entry in a pasted list or an uploaded paper up in that record, flags retracted papers, never shows "could not check" as "not found", and matches every in-text citation to the list, free and with no account. Scribbr's generator page says its references are "verified by experts" and built on CSL "with an added layer for improved accuracy", and its Citation Checker page describes a $9.95 check against "over 100 APA guidelines"; neither page says a source is looked up to see whether it exists or has been retracted (Scribbr, n.d.-a, n.d.-f). Every fact about Scribbr below was read on its own pages, checked on 23 September 2026, prices as the page shows them.
Where Scribbr is the better tool, in a sentence: a far longer list of citation styles, a free paraphrasing tool, and human proofreading and citation editing, none of which EdCitation has, because EdCitation never writes or rewrites any part of a paper.
What does each tool do?
Scribbr sells proofreading and offers writing tools with a free citation generator at the front; EdCitation builds and verifies references and checks a paper against its brief. The table is by job, because "best" only means best for a job.
| Job | Scribbr | EdCitation |
|---|---|---|
| A reference from a DOI or an ISBN | Free, with ads; lists expire after 30 days without an account | Free, no account, screened for retraction |
| Citation styles | APA 6 and 7, MLA and Harvard named on its page; a long menu in the app | Six: APA 7, MLA 9, Chicago 18 author-date, Harvard, IEEE, Vancouver |
| Checks whether each reference exists | Not stated on its pages | Yes: verified, "check this" or not found |
| Retraction warning | Not stated on its pages | Every reference, before it is cited and in the finished list |
| Citations matched to the list | Citation Checker, APA only, $9.95 | Free, with the paper uploaded |
| Plagiarism check | $19.95 to $39.95 a document | Pro, $8 a month, on credits |
| AI detector | Free up to 1,200 words a check; premium with a plagiarism check | Pro, $8 a month, on credits |
| Paraphrasing and human proofreading | Yes, free and priced respectively | No, by design |
| Paper checked against its own assignment | Not on the pages we read | Free checklist; the full check with Max, $24 a month |
Where is EdCitation the better tool?
For the reference, the finished list and the paper against its brief, EdCitation is the best tool, for one reason: it looks a reference up in the publisher's record and never writes one, and a generator built to format what it is given cannot make that check.
The reference before it is cited
Cite a source builds the reference from a DOI, a title, a PubMed ID or an ISBN in APA 7, MLA 9, Chicago 18 author-date, Harvard (Cite Them Right), IEEE and Vancouver, and screens the source for retraction before it is cited, free with no account. Scribbr's generator also builds from a DOI or an ISBN; the test below shows what came back, and its pages say nothing about retractions.
The finished list, every entry
Verify references takes a pasted list or the uploaded paper. Each entry is looked up by its DOI, or by title, year and first author, and comes back verified, doubtful (shown as "check this") or not found. A retracted paper is flagged from the Retraction Watch database; an index that did not answer is shown as "could not check", never as "not found". With the whole paper uploaded, every in-text citation is matched to an entry and every entry back to the text. No model reads the paper, and it is free with no account. References from a file, part of Pro at $8 a month, does the same in the dashboard. Scribbr's Citation Checker, $9.95 and APA only, checks formatting and whether citations and the list "match up" (Scribbr, n.d.-f): the matching half of this job, without the lookup.
The paper against its own brief
Check your paper, free, reads an assignment's instructions into a checklist. Theoretics QA, part of Max at $24 a month, then judges the paper against those instructions, quoting the passages that show it, and never rewrites anything. Scribbr has nothing like it on the pages we read. EdCitation's Cite a source was run on the same DOI and ISBN as Scribbr's generator, below; everything else about its tools is taken from their own pages.
What did Scribbr's generator produce for a DOI and an ISBN?
In EdCitation's test on 23 September 2026, Scribbr's free generator returned a journal reference with one departure from the APA rule and a book reference with five. It ran without an account, with a notice that the list would expire in 30 days and a link asking "Why do I see ads?" (Scribbr, n.d.-g). Each result was compared with the APA Style site's rule page, read the same day: a worked example, not a scorecard.
The journal article
For 10.1038/s41598-023-41032-5, in APA 7th edition, it produced:
Walters, W. H., & Wilder, E. I. (2023). Fabrication and errors in the bibliographic citations generated by ChatGPT. Scientific Reports, 13(1), 14045. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-023-41032-5
(The browser's list already held the same entry, so the generator showed 2023b; a fresh list carries no letter.) The APA journal-article page says to include the DOI and the issue number, and to write "Article" before an article number that stands in for a page range (American Psychological Association, n.d.-c). Scribbr's entry follows the rule in every element but one: a bare "14045" where the rule wants "Article 14045". ZoteroBib made the same slip in our test of Zotero and ZoteroBib; Scribbr's page says its generator is built on the same CSL software as Zotero.
EdCitation's Cite a source, given the same DOI on the same day, printed the word Scribbr left out:
Walters, W. H., & Wilder, E. I. (2023). Fabrication and errors in the bibliographic citations generated by ChatGPT. Scientific Reports, 13(1), Article 14045. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-023-41032-5
The article number sits in a field of its own in the record the publisher deposited with Crossref, and EdCitation sets that field in APA's form instead of passing it off as a page. Nobody has to remember the rule for it to come out right.
The book
For ISBN 9781433832161 it produced:
Association, A. P. (2019). Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. American Psychological Association (APA).
with the in-text citation "(Association, 2019)". The APA book page asks for the author, the copyright year, the title in italics with any edition in parentheses after it, and the publisher (American Psychological Association, n.d.-a); its examples set titles in sentence case. Against that, the entry has five faults. The group author is inverted as if it were a person, so the in-text citation names "Association" alone, where Scribbr's own guide on the same page cites an organisation in full, as "(Scribbr, 2020)". The year is 2019, where the rule says the copyright date and Scribbr's own page calls this book the "7th edition APA Publication Manual (2020)" (Scribbr, n.d.-a). The edition is missing. "Manual" keeps its capital. And the publisher repeats the author, where the APA's own examples name a group that publishes its own work once, as the author (American Psychological Association, n.d.-b). The page promises "accurate APA citations, verified by experts" (Scribbr, n.d.-a); no test figure is given there. How to check whether a reference is real is the check by hand; the APA 7 page shows the form EdCitation builds to.
EdCitation, given the same ISBN, returned in a rerun on 27 September 2026:
American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.).
with the in-text citation "(American Psychological Association, 2020)". The association is named in full as a group author, the year is the 2020 copyright date, the edition is in place, and the publisher is left out because it is the author. Open Library holds the title in title case, and Cite a source sets it in sentence case, as APA asks, keeping the association's name. No edits, against Scribbr's five.
How do Scribbr's plagiarism checker and AI detector compare with EdCitation's checks?
Scribbr sells a plagiarism check by the document and gives its AI detector away up to 1,200 words a check; EdCitation runs both on credits inside Pro. Neither company's accuracy figures come from a peer-reviewed test, and both say the result is not proof.
Prices, databases and privacy, as the pages show them
The plagiarism checker page lists a price per document: $19.95 up to 7,499 words, $29.95 from 7,500 to 49,999, and $39.95 from 50,000, "per check, not a subscription" (Scribbr, n.d.-b). The page says the check uses "the same software as leading universities and publishers"; its FAQ softens that to software "similar to" theirs, and says a university's private database of student papers is one thing Scribbr cannot search. The database it names holds "99.3 billion current and historical webpages" and 8 million publications from more than 1,700 publishers. A submission is never added to that database, the page says, and can be deleted from Scribbr's server once the report arrives. A premium check includes the premium AI detector.
The AI detector page offers unlimited free checks of up to 1,200 words each, no sign-up, and says "we do not store or share your data" (Scribbr, n.d.-c). Each passage is labelled AI-generated, AI-refined or human-written. Its FAQ says the free detector finds GPT-2, GPT-3 and GPT-3.5 text "with average accuracy", that the premium one detects GPT-4, and that "no AI model on the market can guarantee 100% accuracy, including ours".
EdCitation's Check plagiarism marks the passages that match published or web text, with the source of each; Check AI labels each passage AI-written, AI-assisted or human, with the score behind it. Both are part of Pro at $8 a month and run on credits (Pro includes 240 a month, Max 720, more from $10); the cost is shown before a check runs, a check that fails uses nothing, and the report is shown only to the person who ran it. Neither is proof of anything, and EdCitation says so. See pricing.
What the tests say, and whose tests they are
No peer-reviewed test we could find includes either Scribbr product. Weber-Wulff et al. (2023) tested 14 detectors of AI-generated text and found that "all scored below 80% of accuracy and only 5 over 70%"; Scribbr's was not among the 14. Foltýnek et al. (2020) tested 15 plagiarism detection systems in eight languages; Scribbr is not named anywhere in the paper. How AI detectors work and how plagiarism checkers work cover both studies.
The accuracy figures on Scribbr's site are therefore Scribbr's own. Its research page, revised in July 2026, reports a test of 12 detectors on texts Scribbr chose: its premium detector scored 84% with no false positives, its free detector 78%, and the premium tool found only 60% of AI text mixed with human text or paraphrased (Driessen, 2026). The page concludes that detectors "shouldn't be treated as absolute proof". The site disagrees with itself on one number: the detector page's FAQ puts the best free tool in that research at 68%, the research page at 78%. The plagiarism FAQ says "extensive testing proves" its checker among the most accurate on the market in 2024, with no link to the test. A vendor's test of its own product is a claim to check rather than evidence, and EdCitation makes no accuracy claim for its own checks for the same reason.
What does Scribbr do that EdCitation does not?
A great deal, and most of it is writing help, which EdCitation does not offer because it never writes or rewrites any part of a paper.
- Styles. The generator page names APA 6 and 7, MLA and Harvard; the app's style menu is a long list that includes AMA, ASA, Chicago 17th edition in both forms, Council of Science Editors, several Harvard variants and journal-specific styles. We did not count it. EdCitation offers six, and its Chicago is the 18th edition.
- Paraphrasing. Free, ad-free and "powered by QuillBot", up to 125 words per input, in Standard and Fluency modes; among its uses the page lists "Humanize AI text" (Scribbr, n.d.-d).
- Human editing. Priced by word count, turnaround (same day to 7 days) and level, with structure, clarity, formatting and citation add-ons; the calculator showed $161 for 8,000 words, proofreading and editing only, 7-day turnaround, university level (Scribbr, n.d.-e). A Citation Expert edits references at $2.75 per source in any style (Scribbr, n.d.-f).
How do I use Scribbr and EdCitation together?
Write with whichever tools you like, and put the reference list through a lookup before anyone marks it.
- Build each reference from its identifier, in either generator, and read it against the style's own page once. The book test above shows why.
- If you use a paraphraser, cite the source anyway.
- Before submission, upload the finished paper to Verify references. Rebuild any entry that reads "check this" with Cite a source, and replace any that is not found.
- Check the brief with Check your paper.
- Know the price of a plagiarism or AI check first. Scribbr charges by the document; EdCitation shows the credits before it runs; neither result is proof.
Quick questions
Is Scribbr's citation generator free?
Yes. It runs without an account, shows ads, and its lists expire after 30 days unless you open a free account.
Does Scribbr check whether a reference is real?
Not on the pages we read. The generator retrieves a record from a title, URL, DOI or ISBN and formats it; the Citation Checker checks formatting and whether citations and the list match. Neither page mentions checking that a source exists or has been retracted. EdCitation's Verify references does that, free.
How accurate is Scribbr's AI detector?
Scribbr's own research page reports 84% for its premium detector and 78% for its free one, on its own test texts, and says no detector is proof. No peer-reviewed test we could find included it: Weber-Wulff et al. (2023) tested 14 detectors and Scribbr's was not among them.
Can EdCitation replace Scribbr?
Not for writing help. EdCitation has no paraphraser, no human editors and six styles to Scribbr's long list. It builds a reference from the publisher's record, verifies a whole list with retractions flagged, and checks a paper against its own assignment, free with no account.
References
- American Psychological Association. (n.d.-a). Book/ebook references. APA Style. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/book-references
- American Psychological Association. (n.d.-b). Diagnostic manual references. APA Style. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/diagnostic-manual-references
- American Psychological Association. (n.d.-c). Journal article references. APA Style. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/journal-article-references
- Driessen, K. (2026, July 21). 12 best AI detectors: Free & premium tools tested (2026 guide). Scribbr. https://www.scribbr.com/ai-tools/best-ai-detector/
- Foltýnek, T., Dlabolová, D., Anohina-Naumeca, A., Razı, S., Kravjar, J., Kamzola, L., Guerrero-Dib, J., Çelik, Ö., & Weber-Wulff, D. (2020). Testing of support tools for plagiarism detection. International Journal of Educational Technology in Higher Education, 17, Article 46. https://doi.org/10.1186/s41239-020-00192-4
- Scribbr. (n.d.-a). Free APA citation generator, with Chrome extension. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/apa-citation-generator/
- Scribbr. (n.d.-b). Scribbr plagiarism checker: Similar software as universities. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/plagiarism-checker/
- Scribbr. (n.d.-c). AI detector: Trusted AI checker for ChatGPT, Copilot & Gemini. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/ai-detector/
- Scribbr. (n.d.-d). Free paraphrasing tool: Paraphrase text with AI (no signup required). Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/paraphrasing-tool/
- Scribbr. (n.d.-e). Professional editing and proofreading services within 12 hours. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/proofreading-editing/
- Scribbr. (n.d.-f). Perfect your citations: APA, MLA, Chicago and more. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/citation-checker/
- Scribbr. (n.d.-g). Citation generator [Web application]. Retrieved 23 September 2026, from https://www.scribbr.com/citation/generator/
- Walters, W. H., & Wilder, E. I. (2023). Fabrication and errors in the bibliographic citations generated by ChatGPT. Scientific Reports, 13, Article 14045. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-023-41032-5
- Weber-Wulff, D., Anohina-Naumeca, A., Bjelobaba, S., Foltýnek, T., Guerrero-Dib, J., Popoola, O., Šigut, P., & Waddington, L. (2023). Testing of detection tools for AI-generated text. International Journal for Educational Integrity, 19, Article 26. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40979-023-00146-z