How to write a scholarship application starts with the programme's own form, not a general template: Chevening asks for four essays, the Commonwealth Master's form sets a limit for each of a dozen answers, and Fulbright counts characters. This guide, published by EdCitation, takes every question, limit and rule from the programmes' own pages and forms, read in late September 2026 for the cycles then open. Selection is competitive everywhere, and nothing here can promise an award.
EdCitation's free Check your paper turns those instructions into a checklist, each rule beside the sentence it came from. The essays stay yours: EdCitation writes no part of an application, which is exactly what the funders below require. For a university place rather than funding, see how to write a personal statement.
What does a scholarship application ask for?
Most ask for short essays tied to named selection criteria, a study plan, a CV, transcripts and two or three references, read by a panel that is usually not expert in your subject. The table gives each programme's questions and limits as its own pages or form state them.
| Scholarship and cycle | What the application asks | Limits | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chevening, 2027/28 (closes 6 October 2026, 11:00 UTC) | Four essays: leadership and influencing, building relationships, course choice, career plan; two referees named | Shown in the form; not stated on the public pages we read | Chevening (n.d.-a, n.d.-c) |
| Commonwealth Master's, 2027/28 (closes 20 October 2026, 16:00 BST) | Development Impact in four parts; objectives and career plans; study outline and plan; personal statement; voluntary and leadership experience | 200, 100, 250 and 100 words; three answers of 250; 125 and 300; 500; up to 500 | Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (2026a) |
| Fulbright U.S. Student Program, academic, 2027–28 (closes 6 October 2026, 5 pm ET) | Statement of Grant Purpose; three Short Answers; project title and abstract; three recommendations | 6,000 characters; 2,000, 2,000 and 1,000; 90 and 1,750 | Fulbright U.S. Student Program (n.d.) |
| US-UK Fulbright postgraduate, 2027–28 (closed 5 May 2026) | Study objective, personal statement, reflective essay, three recommendations | 1,000, 500 and 300 words; letters at most 750 words | US-UK Fulbright Commission (2026) |
| Gates Cambridge, 2027 entry (US round 14 October 2026; others 8 December 2026 or 6 January 2027) | Four questions: academic excellence, choice of course, commitment to others, leadership | 1,400, 1,400, 2,100 and 2,100 characters | Gates Cambridge Trust (2026a, 2026b) |
| Erasmus Mundus Journalism, 2027–2029 (opens 1 November 2026) | Application Reflections in the form; CV; three work samples; two references | CV at most two pages; length of the reflections not stated on the page we read | Mundus Journalism (n.d.) |
| Your own scholarship | Whatever its instructions say | Whatever its instructions say | Read into a checklist by EdCitation's Check your paper, free |
What could not be confirmed
Chevening's online-application guidance tells applicants to "take note of the word limits" but the pages we read give no figure (Chevening, n.d.-c). Several unofficial guides report a cut to 300 words an essay for 2027/28; we could not confirm that at Chevening, so check the form. The Rhodes Scholarship's limits are set in each constituency's information and are left out of the table. Each Erasmus Mundus Joint Master runs its own application, most between October and January (European Education and Culture Executive Agency, n.d.), so Mundus Journalism stands for one programme only.
How to write the Chevening essays
Write four separate answers, one for each criterion Chevening assesses. Its criteria page asks for examples of taking the lead and influencing others; examples of building working relationships that led to measurable outcomes; research into your three chosen courses, with the answer focused only on your first choice and naming modules that give you the skills you need; and a career plan with short, mid and long-term goals that are clear and measurable (Chevening, n.d.-b). Answers must be in English. You also need at least two years (2,800 hours) of work experience, which the form totals from your entries (Chevening, n.d.-c). Applying is free, and Chevening does not work with third parties who charge for help.
How to write a Commonwealth Scholarship application
Answer every box of the Commonwealth Master's form at the length it sets, and make development impact the thread. The 2027 template form asks how your study relates to development issues globally, nationally and locally (200 words), how you will apply your skills on your return (100), what will change, with outcomes, timeframe and beneficiaries (250), and how that impact will be measured (100) (Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK, 2026a).
What the selection panels say
The Commission's advice to applicants is unusually direct (Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK, n.d.). Short Development Impact answers persuade less than a full argument that uses the word count available. Write so that a non-specialist can follow, because vague or technical answers score poorly. Say why each university suits your plans, not only that it ranks well, and do not paste in course descriptions, which may be treated as plagiarism. The study plan must be your own, not your intended supervisor's. You apply through a nominating agency as well as the Commission, and nominators may close earlier.
How to write a Fulbright personal statement
It depends on which Fulbright: Americans apply through the U.S. Student Program, British applicants through the US-UK Fulbright Commission, and others through the commission or US embassy in their own country.
The U.S. Student Program's statement of grant purpose
The Statement of Grant Purpose sets out the who, what, when, where, why and how of your project in at most 6,000 characters with spaces, and the system will not accept more (Fulbright U.S. Student Program, n.d.). It must not include a bibliography or citations, links (a URL can make an application ineligible) or contact details. The 2027–28 academic components page lists three Short Answers, on flexibility and adaptability, community engagement and the impact of the award; it does not mention the one-page personal statement older guides describe.
The US-UK Commission's personal statement
For 2027–28, the Commission asked for a 1,000-word study objective, a 500-word personal statement and a compulsory 300-word reflective essay, and said words beyond the first two limits will not be read (US-UK Fulbright Commission, 2026). The personal statement must not repeat the study objective or narrate your CV. Applicants on the IIE placement track must not name any US university in either essay.
How should you choose and brief your referees?
Choose people who know your work well, and brief them. The programmes differ on almost every detail.
- Chevening: name two referees, professional or academic, not friends or relatives. If invited to interview, you upload both letters, in English or with a notarised translation, at least seven working days beforehand; Chevening does not contact referees for you (Chevening, n.d.-d).
- Commonwealth: list three referees, one your current employer if you have one, and upload at least two signed references as PDFs by the closing date (Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK, 2026b). The Commission warns that a five-line reference is unlikely to be enough.
- Fulbright U.S. Student Program: three confidential letters, uploaded by the recommenders themselves, none from a relative; give them your statement and Short Answers, and at least four to five weeks (Fulbright U.S. Student Program, n.d.).
- Gates Cambridge: two academic references plus a Gates reference on its criteria, up to 4,000 characters, from someone briefed on the scholarship rather than a third academic letter (Gates Cambridge Trust, 2026a).
The University of Colorado Boulder's Top Scholarships office suggests giving each recommender your CV, transcript and the award's criteria, with at least four weeks' notice (University of Colorado Boulder, n.d.).
What do university scholarship offices advise?
Advisers agree on specifics, one clear theme and the application read as a whole. MIT's Office of Graduate Education treats the application as one package and says to address the fellowship's stated goals directly, since how you use limited space is often part of the review (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, n.d.). The University of Maryland's National Scholarships Office calls the statement an "intellectual autobiography": name the actual project and organisation rather than a vague description, and do not rewrite your CV in prose (University of Maryland, n.d.). Colorado's office says not to plead for money or raise anything you would not discuss at interview. Indiana University's office runs a campus nomination round for Rhodes and Marshall, with its own campus deadline of 31 August 2026 (Indiana University Bloomington, n.d.).
Where the advisers disagree
Maryland's staff read and comment on drafts, and Colorado suggests friends and family read them too. Rhodes draws a line: mentors may give general feedback but must not write or edit your statements, and you declare what help you had (Rhodes Trust, 2026). Indiana's page quotes a stricter Rhodes attestation, that no one has reviewed any draft at all. Follow the wording on your own constituency's form, and ask the Trust if the two differ.
Can you use AI in a scholarship application?
Only as far as the programme allows, and the rules range from a ban to permitted uses with disclosure.
- Chevening: using AI software to generate answers is "strictly prohibited", Chevening uses tools to detect AI-generated content, and the form asks you to confirm you did not use AI to generate your answers (Chevening, n.d.-c).
- Cambridge, through which Gates Cambridge applicants apply: "AI must not be used when writing personal statements and CVs", even to help with English; appropriate help with a research proposal is allowed and must be acknowledged (University of Cambridge, n.d.). The Gates pages we read say nothing separate about AI, so ask the Trust whether the ban covers its four answers.
- Rhodes (May 2026): acceptable uses include checking spelling and grammar, suggesting cuts and help with structure; generating substantive content is unacceptable. The form asks which tool you used and what prompts (Rhodes Trust, 2026).
- Commonwealth, Fulbright and Mundus Journalism: the pages and documents we read do not address AI. Commonwealth applicants confirm everything submitted is genuine and accurate, and the study plan must be their own. Ask the programme before relying on silence.
For how to word a declaration, see should you disclose AI use, and how.
A planning template for a scholarship application
The template below is ours. It sorts your evidence before you draft; the sentences you write are your own.
- Collect the instructions from the programme's form, guidance and criteria pages. Paste them into EdCitation's Check your paper for a checklist of limits and formatting.
- Copy each question word for word as a heading, with its limit beside it in words or characters.
- Map the criteria. Under each heading, note which selection criterion it scores.
- Gather two examples per question: what the situation was, what you did, what changed, and a number where there honestly is one.
- Use each example once. The same story in two essays wastes both.
- Brief referees with your draft plan and the criteria, four to five weeks ahead.
- Draft within the limit, then cut. Our guide to writing to a word count covers cutting.
- Check the programme's AI and help rules, add any declaration it asks for, and submit before the deadline, not on it.
Your CV follows the programme's format; see how to write a CV.
How does Check your paper read a scholarship's instructions?
It lists the checkable rules, each with its source sentence, and sets aside what no rule can test. That makes it the best first step for an application: it takes the requirements from the programme's own words, shows its working, and never touches your answers. Check your paper is free, with no account, and reads word limits for each part, required headings, the number and age of sources, the citation style, font, spacing and margins. Checking a draft against that checklist is Theoretics QA, part of Max at $24 a month, which quotes your draft and never rewrites it. If a programme asks what help you had, as Rhodes does, list any tool you used.
What our test instructions returned
To test it, we pasted in a short set of instructions for an imaginary scholarship, written by us and labelled as ours. Ten rules came back: Font, "Arial"; Font size, 11 pt; Line spacing, 1; Margins, 0.98 in (read from "2.5 cm margins"); Sources, at least 3; Source dates, "From the last 5 years"; Citation style, "APA 7"; Required headings, "Study Plan" and "References"; Word limit · Each answer, at most 300 words (from "Each answer must be no more than 300 words."); and Word limit · Study plan, 500 to 800 words.
It set aside three lines:
- "Answer four questions: your leadership, how you build relationships, why you chose this course, and your career plan."
- "Upload two reference letters on letterhead."
- "Do not use AI tools to write your answers."
The questions themselves belong in your template as headings (step 2), and the referee letters and the AI rule are yours to act on.
Where an application cites sources, as a research proposal usually does and Fulbright's statement of grant purpose must not, Cite a source builds each reference from the publisher's record. Given the DOI 10.1038/nature12373, it returned, in APA 7, with no retraction:
Kucsko, G., Maurer, P. C., Yao, N. Y., Kubo, M., Noh, H. J., Lo, P. K., Park, H., & Lukin, M. D. (2013). Nanometre-scale thermometry in a living cell. Nature, 500(7460), 54–58. https://doi.org/10.1038/nature12373
Verify references then checks the finished list, free.
Quick questions
How long is a Chevening essay?
Chevening shows its word limits inside the application form; its public pages for 2027/28, read in September 2026, give no figure.
How many words is the Commonwealth scholarship personal statement?
The Commonwealth Master's personal statement is 500 words on the 2027 template form, with up to 500 more on voluntary and leadership experience.
How long is a Fulbright personal statement?
For the US-UK Commission's 2027–28 awards it was 500 words. The U.S. Student Program's academic application sets a 6,000-character Statement of Grant Purpose and three Short Answers instead.
Can I use ChatGPT for a scholarship essay?
Not to generate it: Chevening prohibits that and Cambridge bars AI from personal statements entirely. Rhodes allows spelling checks and help with structure, declared on the form.
Can EdCitation check a scholarship's requirements?
Yes. EdCitation's free Check your paper turns the instructions into a checklist of limits and formatting, each rule with its source sentence. It never writes or edits the essays.
References
- Chevening. (n.d.-a). Application timeline. https://www.chevening.org/scholarships/application-timeline/
- Chevening. (n.d.-b). Chevening application criteria. https://www.chevening.org/resource-hub/guidance/application-criteria/
- Chevening. (n.d.-c). How to apply to Chevening. https://www.chevening.org/resource-hub/guidance/online-application-system/
- Chevening. (n.d.-d). References. https://www.chevening.org/resource-hub/guidance/references/
- Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK. (n.d.). Applicant advice. https://cscuk.fcdo.gov.uk/advice-for-applicants/
- Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK. (2026a). Commonwealth Master's Scholarship: Template application form 2027 [PDF]. https://cscuk.fcdo.gov.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/Masters-template-form-2027.pdf
- Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK. (2026b). Commonwealth Master's Scholarships. https://cscuk.fcdo.gov.uk/scholarships/commonwealth-masters-scholarships/
- European Education and Culture Executive Agency. (n.d.). Erasmus Mundus catalogue. https://www.eacea.ec.europa.eu/scholarships/erasmus-mundus-catalogue_en
- Fulbright U.S. Student Program. (n.d.). Application components: Academic fields. Institute of International Education. https://us.fulbrightonline.org/application-components/academic
- Gates Cambridge Trust. (2026a). How to apply for a Cambridge scholarship. https://www.gatescambridge.org/apply/how-to-apply/
- Gates Cambridge Trust. (2026b). Timeline. https://www.gatescambridge.org/apply/timeline/
- Indiana University Bloomington, Office of National Scholarships & Awards. (n.d.). Rhodes Scholarship. https://nsa.indiana.edu/awards/rhodes-scholarship.html
- Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Office of Graduate Education. (n.d.). Drafting a personal statement. https://oge.mit.edu/fellowships/fellowship-tips/drafting-a-personal-statement/
- Mundus Journalism. (n.d.). Application process overview. https://mundusjournalism.com/admissions/application-process
- Rhodes Trust. (2026). Generative AI and support with your application: Guidance for applicants [PDF]. https://www.rhodeshouse.ox.ac.uk/media/5e3dzr43/generative-ai-and-help-with-your-application-guidance-for-candidates-may-2026.pdf
- University of Cambridge. (n.d.). Using AI in your application. Postgraduate Study. https://www.postgraduate.study.cam.ac.uk/apply/how/ai-postgraduate-applications
- University of Colorado Boulder, Top Scholarships. (n.d.). Application tips. https://www.colorado.edu/topscholarships/node/16
- University of Maryland, National Scholarships Office. (n.d.). Advice for personal statements. https://scholarships.umd.edu/advice-personal-statements
- US-UK Fulbright Commission. (2026). UK postgraduate awards 2027–28: Application instructions [PDF]. https://fulbright.org.uk/media/wzsbf4hq/ukpg-2728-applications-instructions-1504.pdf